Problem uploading routes

For everything Garmin Zumo 660/665 related
User avatar
wingnit
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Sep 2021 02:12
Location: Metairie LA
Been liked: 1 time
United States of America

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by wingnit »

How do you save routes to the SD card. I don't know how to change the path. Can you help me please.
sussamb
Posts: 1076
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 13:06
Has liked: 69 times
Been liked: 215 times
Great Britain

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by sussamb »

Just select the card in BaseCamp instead of selecting the device.
jfheath
Posts: 582
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 144 times
Great Britain

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by jfheath »

It is difficult to be precise if you don't tell us what software you are using. The method for Basecamp and Mapsource is different.

Since Basecamp is not recommended for the 665, I will assume that you are using Mapsource.

There are three steps to being able to navigate a route.

1) Transfer the route the routes from Mapsource. This gets the route into internal memory or onto the SD card. It is stored just as a file. THe navigation system cannot load the route from that file. In Mapsource, all routes are transferred at the same time.

2) Import the Routes. The routes have to be imported before they can be navigated. Usually you can select which routes to import - I cannot remember whether this was the case on the 660, and I don't know about the 665. Whatever - before a route can be navigated, it must have been imported. Otherwise you will never see it.

3) Load the route and navigate. You can only load one route at a time to navigate.

The 660 manual reports that it can accomodate just 20 routes. The problem may be related to that.

(You may need to correct some of the above if it is not quite right - it has been a long time since I had a 660 in my hands.)

To transfer the routes on Mapsource, connect your Zumo to the USB cable and wait for it to be recognised. If you have an SD card inserted, your file explorer should show two new drive letters.

In Mapsource, make sure that the routes tab is selected in the left hand pane, and then click Transfer / Send to Device
The following dialog should be displayed.
Mapsource 2.jpg
Mapsource 1.jpg
You need to select where you want to send the data to - the Internal storage or to the SD card. The Internal Storage shows the device name and the serial number. The SD card just gives the drive letter and the name that you put on the SD card when you formatted it (if any). Otherwise it just gives the drive letter. If I hadn't lablelled my card as 'Zumo SD 32', the choice would be difficult to make. Go to File Explorer in Windows, see if you can work out which letter refers to which device.

You may only see two drive letters in your device list. (I have a 4 port USB hub attached, which is giving me the addiional letters). If your device isn't listed, click 'Find Device' to make it search again. Choose the device that you want. Make sure that the Routes check box is ticked.

I have no idea what you are doing to make just one route appear in your list. IT may be that you have filled your 20 route allocation. You may be doing something wrong. You may not be transferring any files, and because one route name matches one that has successfully transferred before, you think it has transferred just one. I don't know. I am guessing.

Work through the above. If it doesn't work, you are going to have to write down step by step what you are doing and what happens.

Oh - and please don't shout at me !!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660.
BTM03 module to provide Bluetooth link to Autocom. XT paired up to Android Smartphone
User avatar
wingnit
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Sep 2021 02:12
Location: Metairie LA
Been liked: 1 time
United States of America

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by wingnit »

sussamb wrote: 16 Sep 2021 06:37 Sorry but not answering the question. What are you using to send the routes to your 665? It would also be helpful to know your work flow?

FYI Garmin don't recommend BaseCamp for use with a 665, see https://support.garmin.com/en-GB/?faq=i ... wZpVKmw7t9
I am using mapsource 99% of the time however if I use Basecamp I have the same results with either of them.
Last edited by jfheath on 23 Sep 2021 17:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed shouting emphasis - bold, large, red text.
User avatar
wingnit
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Sep 2021 02:12
Location: Metairie LA
Been liked: 1 time
United States of America

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by wingnit »

wingnit wrote: 23 Sep 2021 16:50
sussamb wrote: 16 Sep 2021 06:37 Sorry but not answering the question. What are you using to send the routes to your 665? It would also be helpful to know your work flow?

FYI Garmin don't recommend BaseCamp for use with a 665, see https://support.garmin.com/en-GB/?faq=i ... wZpVKmw7t9
I am using mapsource 99% of the time however if I use Basecamp I have the same results with either of them.
jfheath wrote: 23 Sep 2021 06:27 It is difficult to be precise if you don't tell us what software you are using. The method for Basecamp and Mapsource is different.

Since Basecamp is not recommended for the 665, I will assume that you are using Mapsource.

There are three steps to being able to navigate a route.

1) Transfer the route the routes from Mapsource. This gets the route into internal memory or onto the SD card. It is stored just as a file. THe navigation system cannot load the route from that file. In Mapsource, all routes are transferred at the same time.

2) Import the Routes. The routes have to be imported before they can be navigated. Usually you can select which routes to import - I cannot remember whether this was the case on the 660, and I don't know about the 665. Whatever - before a route can be navigated, it must have been imported. Otherwise you will never see it.

3) Load the route and navigate. You can only load one route at a time to navigate.

The 660 manual reports that it can accomodate just 20 routes. The problem may be related to that.

(You may need to correct some of the above if it is not quite right - it has been a long time since I had a 660 in my hands.)



To transfer the routes on Mapsource, connect your Zumo to the USB cable and wait for it to be recognised. If you have an SD card inserted, your file explorer should show two new drive letters.

In Mapsource, make sure that the routes tab is selected in the left hand pane, and then click Transfer / Send to Device
The following dialog should be displayed.

Mapsource 2.jpg Mapsource 1.jpg

You need to select where you want to send the data to - the Internal storage or to the SD card. The Internal Storage shows the device name and the serial number. The SD card just gives the drive letter and the name that you put on the SD card when you formatted it (if any). Otherwise it just gives the drive letter. If I hadn't lablelled my card as 'Zumo SD 32', the choice would be difficult to make. Go to File Explorer in Windows, see if you can work out which letter refers to which device.

You may only see two drive letters in your device list. (I have a 4 port USB hub attached, which is giving me the addiional letters). If your device isn't listed, click 'Find Device' to make it search again. Choose the device that you want. Make sure that the Routes check box is ticked.

I have no idea what you are doing to make just one route appear in your list. IT may be that you have filled your 20 route allocation. You may be doing something wrong. You may not be transferring any files, and because one route name matches one that has successfully transferred before, you think it has transferred just one. I don't know. I am guessing.

Work through the above. If it doesn't work, you are going to have to write down step by step what you are doing and what happens.

Oh - and please don't shout at me !!
Hey J
I'm Sorry I wasn't shouting at you, I'm grateful for all you have done. I did not know where to find the location to change directories. I'm glad you knew. Thanks so much J
User avatar
wingnit
Posts: 7
Joined: 13 Sep 2021 02:12
Location: Metairie LA
Been liked: 1 time
United States of America

Re: Problem uploading routes

Post by wingnit »

J, thanks for all your help. The stuff you type to me was so detailed. Thanks for all your time to do all that. The 665 ZUMO works quite well.
My wife has the ZUMO 660 on her goldwing but she doesn't use it like I do. Besides she follows me anyway.
Thanks so much for your time.
Tony

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests