Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

For everything Garmin Zumo XT related
woodyflyer
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Sep 2020 08:11
Been liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by woodyflyer »

Hi
I've used Tyre to create routes for some years
Untill the recent firmware update to 6.10 everything worked ok with the XT, now I cannot open or delete routes from the XT when using Tyre, I get an error message and the info windows shows no details of the routes on the XT, the Tyre program then freezes.
I also have a 660 and it works fine.
I have contacted Garmin and they are not interested as its third party , Contacted Tyre who have been very helpful but I'm still having issues , it all indicates to my XT being faulty or the firmware.
I would be grateful if any other XT uses that also use Tyre to let me know if they have the same problems as my XT
Cheers
Woody
jfheath
Posts: 303
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 66 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by jfheath »

I am not familiar with Tyre. How do you get a route onto the XT ? Is it a gpx file, or do you use another method.

If a gpx, if you want to post it, I could se if the problem is reproduced on my unit.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660
Wired Autocom and Bluetooth to Android Smartphone
jfheath
Posts: 303
Joined: 19 Oct 2019 16:17
Location: West Yorkshire, Uk
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 66 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by jfheath »

Just for info....

Following on from a correspondance we had, I downloaded Tyre and created a test route. All worked well, although it was clear to me that Tyres use of terminology and Garmin's use of the same terms for routing, seem to be very different.

Today, I loaded up Basecamp and attached my Zumo. It reads the files that are on the Zumo, but it balked at the one that I had created on Tyre. It was easy to dismiss, but clearly something that Tyre put in the gpx file is not liked by Garmin.
ST1300A9 - Currently: Zumo 590/5 and Zumo XT - Previous: Zumo 550 and Zumo 660
Wired Autocom and Bluetooth to Android Smartphone
woodyflyer
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Sep 2020 08:11
Been liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by woodyflyer »

Thanks jfheath for your reply

I hope I have resolved the problem.
I tried my XT on my other PC running Windows 7 32bit and all was good able to open or delete routes from within Tyre, my main PC runs windows 7 64bit and this had the problems.
I install the 32bit version of Tyre on the 64bit PC and it works fine.
So in my case/ PC it's the 64bit that's causing problems for some reason. Unsure why ?
JS_racer
Posts: 38
Joined: 13 Jun 2020 00:18
Location: Minnesota
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 2 times
United States of America

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by JS_racer »

myrouteapp.com is a good option as well.
used tyre many years ago,
colirv
Posts: 30
Joined: 30 Dec 2019 09:38
Location: Tyne & Wear
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 6 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by colirv »

JS_racer wrote: 07 Apr 2021 13:52 myrouteapp.com is a good option as well.
It is, but at €39 per year it's also far too expensive for me.
FJR1300A
User avatar
mzeist
Posts: 94
Joined: 27 Apr 2018 08:52
Location: Zeist, the Netherlands
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 22 times
Netherlands

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by mzeist »

colirv wrote: 07 Apr 2021 20:01 It is, but at €39 per year it's also far too expensive for me.
take a look at https://kurviger.de/en
the free version is awesome, the paid version (cheap) is even better.
Groet, Marcel.
ST1300 - Etrex Vista, 60CS, Co300, SPIII, SP2610, Nuvi760, Zumo660, Or650, Nuvi3590, Zumo590/5, Zumo XT
JS_racer
Posts: 38
Joined: 13 Jun 2020 00:18
Location: Minnesota
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 2 times
United States of America

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by JS_racer »

colirv wrote: 07 Apr 2021 20:01
JS_racer wrote: 07 Apr 2021 13:52 myrouteapp.com is a good option as well.
It is, but at €39 per year it's also far too expensive for me.
ahh, I did lifetime gold many years ago.
also from the website No obligations. Basic functionality is always free after registration.
colirv
Posts: 30
Joined: 30 Dec 2019 09:38
Location: Tyne & Wear
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 6 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by colirv »

Basic is no good for me, not least because I want to use Googlemaps rather than just OpenStreetMap.
FJR1300A
woodyflyer
Posts: 9
Joined: 19 Sep 2020 08:11
Been liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: Tyre GPS navigation errors with Zumo XT

Post by woodyflyer »

Useful feature in Tyre is that you can launch Google's Street View, it's very handy when you plan a route, you can checkout what the road looks like to give some idea of the bends, surface .
Also places for parking, what a cafe or hotel looks like, all visual clue help especially while touring abroad.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests