660 locks when asking for Route Preview

For everything Garmin Zumo 660/665 related
Tom Schmitz
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 02:42
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 14 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by Tom Schmitz »

RadioFlyer wrote:
26 Oct 2019 23:16
...Thank you!...
[/quote]

You're welcome!

Tom Schmitz
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 02:42
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 14 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by Tom Schmitz »

carolinarider09,

May I ask when you installed the maps on the 660?

The reason I ask is because your gmap3d file is dated 5/22/19. If that's when you installed the maps, all well and good. However, if you have installed 2020.2 that date should be later, I think. In that case, you might have some remnant files from the last time that Garmin Express was able to put the files on your zumo's internal memory.

carolinarider09
Posts: 140
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 00:40
Location: South Carolina
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 22 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by carolinarider09 »

Tom,

The maps are up to date on both devices but I will verify again, trust but verify.

I did not look at the file dates, Good catch. The images below are what Garmin Express found.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tom Schmitz
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 02:42
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 14 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by Tom Schmitz »

Getting back to the 660, then, what I would do with the issue is

a) Find a route that makes it lock up when you do a preview.
b) Back up the gmap3D file from 5/22
c) Backup the entire zumo then delete the gmap3D file from the zumo.
d) Pull the SD card
e) Use MapInstall to load only your riding region to the zumo's internal memory, shooting for a mapset of about 175Mb
f) See if the 660 will do a preview without locking. See if it will "Scroll the route to the end of the route and zoom in" without locking or crashing.

One the 665 it would be interesting to see what Express shows when you go to "Tools & Content>Utilities" and scroll down to the usage. It would also be interesting to see if it has a large map file that is in the zumo>Garmin directory that is chewing up memory.

carolinarider09
Posts: 140
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 00:40
Location: South Carolina
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 22 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by carolinarider09 »

RE: One the 665 it would be interesting to see what Express shows when you go to "Tools & Content>Utilities" and scroll down to the usage. It would also be interesting to see if it has a large map file that is in the zumo>Garmin directory that is chewing up memory.

I have never looked at the "Tool Content - Utilities" (at least that I remember) Will give it a look see and report back.

carolinarider09
Posts: 140
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 00:40
Location: South Carolina
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 22 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by carolinarider09 »

Update. I did look for the "Tool Content - Utilities" (in Garmin Express) and could not find the reference but I was also updating maps so I may have missed it. But I am using the MAC version.

Tom Schmitz
Posts: 87
Joined: 23 Apr 2018 02:42
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 14 times
United States of America

Re: 660 locks when asking for Route Preview

Post by Tom Schmitz »

I have been riding around northern California for the past week with no access to the forum.

This is what the PC version of Garmin Express looks like:
Image

Clicking on "Tools & Content" bring up this tabbed menu where I have clicked on "Utilities":
Image

Scrolling to the bottom reveals the memory usage:
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests