Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

For everything Garmin Zumo 590/595 related
Rip
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Jul 2020 16:29
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Rip »

I have my Cardo Packtalk Bold connected to my Zumo 595 via Bluethooth which works great but, when I get navigation instructions from the Zumo the people I am talking to on the Cardo intercom get completely muted throughout the navigation instructions and also seem to be muted for a couple of seconds before and after the navigation instructions too. Is there a way to just have the intercom conversation volume lower a bit rather than just mute completely?

I get a lot of rider alerts from the Zumo like speed camera's, upcoming speed reductions and of course navigation instructions so I've found that sometimes for very prolonged periods my intercom conversations are completely muted.

I've had a look in the Cardo mobile app and also the Zumo's audio settings but can't really see anything that would help me tweak this behavior?
Stu
Site Admin
Posts: 475
Joined: 22 Apr 2018 21:38
Location: Hull, UK
Has liked: 218 times
Been liked: 104 times
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Stu »

I use the pactalk with my zumo but I have all voice instructions off! so can't really help!

But I do know a lot of people have had this issue

I was always under the impression you could talk and still get instructions with it int interrupting the intercom!

I wonder if its something to do with using DMC and bluetooth at the same time?
Rip
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Jul 2020 16:29
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Rip »

I think I can still talk while instructions are being read to me but I can't hear anyone else as it just mutes them, and seems to take longer than it should to un-mute them.
JohnnyRidesAlone
Posts: 37
Joined: 13 May 2020 13:10
Been liked: 3 times
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by JohnnyRidesAlone »

I think the Cardo enables you to set priorities and or levels where one is muted or the other or none. It has to be configured from the App i feel
Rip
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Jul 2020 16:29
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Rip »

Yes I saw that but neither setting seems to make a difference lol
User avatar
mzeist
Posts: 94
Joined: 27 Apr 2018 08:52
Location: Zeist, the Netherlands
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 22 times
Netherlands

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by mzeist »

Same here.. that's why I used an external speaker on my 595 for the navigation prompts. The 595 still let me use the headset for media and phone. Tried hooking up a bluetooth speaker to the XT, fine for nav prompts, but I lost phone and media (from the XT).
So yeah, at least the screen is great ;-)
Groet, Marcel.
ST1300 - Etrex Vista, 60CS, Co300, SPIII, SP2610, Nuvi760, Zumo660, Or650, Nuvi3590, Zumo590/5, Zumo XT
Rip
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Jul 2020 16:29
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Rip »

mzeist wrote: 29 Jul 2020 20:20 Same here.. that's why I used an external speaker on my 595 for the navigation prompts. The 595 still let me use the headset for media and phone. Tried hooking up a bluetooth speaker to the XT, fine for nav prompts, but I lost phone and media (from the XT).
So yeah, at least the screen is great ;-)
Weird. Guess I'll have to live with it. I'll just have to minimise the amount of alerts I get from the 595.
User avatar
mzeist
Posts: 94
Joined: 27 Apr 2018 08:52
Location: Zeist, the Netherlands
Has liked: 16 times
Been liked: 22 times
Netherlands

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by mzeist »

it should be added to the list of bugs in the cardo 5.7 firmware, so we should file it somewhere at cardo I guess..
Groet, Marcel.
ST1300 - Etrex Vista, 60CS, Co300, SPIII, SP2610, Nuvi760, Zumo660, Or650, Nuvi3590, Zumo590/5, Zumo XT
Rip
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Jul 2020 16:29
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Rip »

Good idea.
Dusty ST
Posts: 46
Joined: 25 May 2018 15:55
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 10 times
Great Britain

Re: Anyone use a Cardo Intercom with their Zumo?

Post by Dusty ST »

Just mute the Zumo, the spoken directions are just repetitive and annoying.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 3 guests